Winter Fruit Salad

Fruit salad is not the first thing that comes to mind when I think of winter food, but I thought I’d see what I could come up with using some of the season’s best and brightest – citrus, pomegranates, and persimmons.

I used a large ruby grapefruit, which I peeled and cut into bite-sized pieces, removing as much of the bitter pith as possible. I just peeled and pulled apart the small pieces of each clementine. For the persimmons, I decided not to peel them, and just removed the tops and chopped each into bite-sized pieces. I prepared the pomegranates by removing the seeds from the fruit into a bowl of water in order to remove all of the membrane.

For the dressing, I combined a little honey and freshly squeezed lime juice.

Winter Fruit Saladserves 8-10

Ingredients

1 Large Ruby Grapefruit

3 Persimmons

5-6 Clementines

Seeds of 1 Pomegranate

2 tbsp Honey

3 tbsp Lime Juice

Peel the grapefruit and cut each section into bite-size pieces, removing as much of the pith as possible, and place in a mixing bowl. Remove the top of the persimmons and cut into bite-size piece. Add the persimmons to the bowl. Peel the clementines, remove the wedges, and add to the bowl. Add prepared pomegranate seeds. In a small bowl, whisk honey and lime juice until well combined, and pour over the fruit. Toss to combine.

Nutrition Information (Approximate Values): 130 Calories, 1g Fat, 36g Carbohydrates, 2g Protein, 4g Fiber

Print This Recipe!

 

Comments? Questions?

