Cranberry Ginger Scones

I have to admit that I’m not very familiar with scones. I think I’ve made them once before – and that was for a 7th grade project on England – and I’ve probably only eaten a handful in my life. I was inspired by a recipe for scones that I saw a few weeks ago in Bon Appetit, so I decided to give them a try.

I love sweetened dried cranberries. They are the perfect amount of tart and sweet, and I think they go really nicely in these scones.

The orange zest adds a great pop of flavor to the cranberries and ginger.

I added oatmeal to these scones to make them a little heartier.

This recipe call for buttermilk, which can sometimes be hard to find. And if you can find it, it usually comes in larger quantities, so I always end up with leftover buttermilk going bad in the back of the fridge. I’ve learned a trick to make my own buttermilk substitute for recipes using regular milk (low fat, usually) and lemon juice. For every cup of milk, add about a tablespoon of lemon juice or white vinegar. Let stand for five minutes and voila! The buttermilk substitute will add the same properties of real buttermilk to your baking.

If you’ve read through other posts on my blog, you already know of my love for cooking with ginger. I used ground ginger in these scones, which gives them just a hint of ginger mixed in with the flavors of the orange zest and cranberry. If you have some handy or can find it easily enough in your grocery store, I would also suggest adding candied ginger, just to give these scones a slightly stronger ginger flavor (I couldn’t find any at my local store, and I’m now looking into making my own – stay tuned!)

This recipe makes 16 fairly large scones. If you want to make more smaller scones, try cutting the dough lengthwise in thirds first, and then each third into five smaller squares. Then cut diagonally.

I suggest preparing baking sheets with parchment paper (I actually forgot to put it down!) I brushed the tops with a bit of leftover cream and sprinkled each scone with a bit of sugar. I think next time I’ll try to find some sanding sugar for the top.

Be sure to space apart by a few inches, as these tend to puff up while baking.

 

Well, there you have it, my attempt at scones. These are great for brunch, breakfast, tea, an office lunch party, you name it. Not the healthiest baked good out there, but there are far worse things you could eat!

Cranberry Ginger Sconesmakes 16 scones

Adapted from the recipe by Kim Boyce in Bon Appetit

Ingredients

3 3/4 c All-Purpose Flour

1 c Oatmeal or Old-Fashioned Oats

3/4 c Sugar

1 tbsp Baking Powder

1 tsp Salt

2 c Sweetened Dried Cranberries

2 1/2 tbsp Ground Ginger

1 c Heavy Cream

3/4 c Buttermilk

1 tbsp Orange Zest

Preheat oven to 350°F. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oatmeal, sugar, baking powder, salt, cranberries, and ginger. In another bowl, combine the cream, buttermilk, and orange zest. Pour the milk mixture into the bowl with the dry ingredients and stir until slightly combined. Scrape the bowl onto a lightly floured surface and knead until a dough forms. The dough should be slightly sticky. Form the dough into a one-inch thick rectangle, approximately 12”x7”. Using a sharp knife, cut the rectangle in half lengthwise, and then cut each half into four squares. Cut each square in half diagonally to make 16 triangles. Transfer the scones onto prepared baking sheets, spacing a few inches apart. Bake scones for about 30 minutes, rotating half way through baking, until the tops are golden brown and give slightly in the center when pressed. Cool on a wire rack.

Print This Recipe!

 

Comments
3 Responses to “Cranberry Ginger Scones”
  1. These look so good! I am opening a bed and breakfast in Virginia so I am always looking for some good recipes! Thanks!

Comments? Questions?

