Roasted Corn and Red Pepper Hummus

“Chickpeas whipped beyond recognition.” That’s what my boyfriend calls hummus. Let’s just say he’s not a fan (I think it’s a texture thing). Anyways, I love me some hummus, even if it is just chickpeas whipped beyond recognition. It’s a tasty, healthy dip that can be eaten with just about anything – what’s not to love? And I know at least one person in this world who just might love hummus more than I do, so this one goes out to my friend, Mel, who loves hummus and just got engaged – congrats!

Chickpeas. About to be whipped beyond recognition!

I usually make a relatively plain hummus with Tahini (sesame paste) and garlic, but I happened to have some leftover grilled corn on the cob and bell pepper and thought that there could be no better use for these leftover treats than whipping them up into a tasty hummus.

I’m not gonna lie. This might be the best hummus I’ve ever made. I just might have to grill up corn and peppers every time I want to make hummus. Seriously. Delicious.

This dip goes great with homemade pita chips.

Devoured. And yes, that’s an octopus on my plate!

Roasted Corn and Red Pepper Hummusmakes about 1 1/2 c

Ingredients

1 15 oz. can Chickpeas, drained with 1/3 liquid reserved

1 Ear of Corn, roasted and kernels removed

1 Bell Pepper, roasted and seeds and stem removed

2 tbsp Olive Oil

3 tbsp Lemon Juice

2 Cloves Garlic

2 tbsp Tahini Paste

Pinch of Cayenne Pepper

Pinch of Paprika

Salt and Pepper

In a food processor, blend chickpeas with 1/3 of liquid from can until well broken down. Add corn, bell pepper, olive oil, lemon juice, garlic, tahini, cayenne pepper, paprika, salt and pepper. Blend again until texture is smooth. If too thick, add more lemon juice and/or olive oil. Serve with pita chips or vegetables.

Nutrition Information (Approximate Values): 135 Calories, 8g Fat, 5g Protein, 3g Fiber, 12g Carbohydrates

Print This Recipe!

Comments
One Response to “Roasted Corn and Red Pepper Hummus”
  1. sugaredpecan says:

    I love everything about hummus!!!! I have had red pepper hummus but not corn, just love that!

Comments? Questions?

