Zucchini Quinoa Fritters

When I was little – and I mean like a toddler – I loved zucchini. I know, weird. What 2-year-old likes zucchini!? Well, I did. And I still do! It’s so flavorful yet light and goes with just about everything – alongside meat and poultry, grilled on a kebab, or grated and made into delicious (and not-so-healthy) chocolate zucchini bread (yum!). Here, I’ve used one of my all-time favorite veggies for some serious flavor-packin’ zucchini and quinoa fritters. These puppies are so good you won’t be able to stop with just two (trust me, I tried!), but that’s okay because they also happen to be super good for you (yay!)

I like to leave the skin of the zucchini on when I grate it for recipes. I think it adds a little flavor and a lot of nutrients (where the darkest colors are is where the most nutrients are). If the skin is not your style, then by all means peel the zucchini before grating. I’m also lazy, so that would require an extra step…

This may not look appetizing, but trust me, it is. These are a great way to use up that extra cupful of leftover quinoa from last night’s dinner.

These little quinoa cakes are a bit sticky and delicate to handle, but once they crisp up in the pan, they hold they’re shape well.

And there they be, in all their quinoa zucchini glory. An excellently healthy side dish for any meal, and they’d make a great appetizer (you could make the cakes bit-size) or an addition to brunch (we actually ate leftovers with an egg over easy on top – delish!)

And…devoured!

Zucchini Quinoa Frittersserves 4 (makes 8 fritters)

Ingredients

1 1/2 c Zucchini, grated

1 c Cooked Quinoa

1 oz Goat Soft Goat Cheese

2 Cloves Garlic, minced

1 Egg, lightly beaten

1/2 c Bread Crumbs (Italian flavor optional)

Salt and Pepper

Olive Oil

In a medium size bowl, combine the zucchini, quinoa, goat cheese, garlic, egg, bread crumbs, salt and pepper. Using a spoon, scoop about three tablespoons full of the mixture and pat between your hands to form a patty about the size of your palm. Repeat with the remaining quinoa mixture. Heat a pan over medium high heat and drizzle with olive oil. Carefully drop a few of the patties into the pan. Cook over medium heat about 3 minutes per side until browned and crispy on each side. Repeat with the rest of the fritters. Serve warm.

Nutrition Information* (Approximate Values): 130 Calories, 3.5g Fat, 6g Protein, 3g Fiber, 19g Carbohydrates

* Serving size 2 fritters

Print This Recipe

Comments
3 Responses to “Zucchini Quinoa Fritters”
  1. Yummy! Thanks for helping me use up the last zucchini of the season!

  2. These look so good! I love zucchini too. It is actually similar to a patty I make — I use matzo crumbs instead of quinoa and bake it (it’s good for pizza crust or a tostada shell). I will try your method — it’s like a more veggie filled falafel!

  3. I can’t wait to try these!

Comments? Questions?